AHF Writing Awards Announced


Arlington, VA – At its Eighteenth Annual Members’ Meeting, held 18 May 2015 at the Army Navy Country Club in Arlington, VA, the Army Historical Foundation recognized six books and three articles as outstanding achievements in writing on U.S. Army history published in 2014.  GEN William Hartzog, USA-Ret., announced the winners of the 2014 AHF Distinguished Writing Awards.

The winners:

Book Awards


Alvin York:  A New Biography of the Hero of the Argonne, by Douglas V. Mastriano (Lexington:  University Press of Kentucky)

Journals, Memoirs, and Letters

An Army Doctor on the Western Frontier:  Journals and Letters of John Vance Lauderdale, 1864-1890, edited by Robert M. Utley (Albuquerque:  University of New Mexico Press)

Operational/Battle History

The U.S. Military Intervention in Panama:  Operation JUST CAUSE, December 1989-January 1990, by Lawrence A. Yates (Washington, DC:  U.S. Army Center of Military History)

Institutional/Functional History

“Good Tuberculosis Men”:  The Army Medical Department’s Struggle with Tuberculosis, by Carol L. Byerly (Fort Sam Houston, TX:  Borden Institute)


Clifford J. Rogers, Ty Seidule, and Samuel J. Watson

The West Point History of the Civil War, by Clifford J. Rogers, Ty Seidule, and Samuel J. Watson

(New York:  Simon & Schuster)


Richmond Redeemed:  The Siege of Petersburg, the Battles of Chaffin’s Bluff and Poplar Spring Church, September 29-October 2, 1864, by Richard J. Sommers (El Dorado, CA:  Savas Beatie)


Article Awards

Army Professional Journals

“The Evolution and Demise of the MASH, 1946-2006:  Organizing to Perform Surgery as Medicine and the Military Change,” by Sanders Marble (Army History, Summer 2014)

Academic Journals and Magazines

“An Irregular Consideration of George Washington and the American Military Tradition,” by John W. Hall (Journal of Military History:  July 2014)

Journals and Magazines

An American Fandango in Monterrey,” by Noah Andre Trudeau (MHQ:  Spring 2014)


The book award winners received a plaque honoring the book and a $1,000 cash award.  The winner in the Reprint category received a plaque but no cash award.  The article award winners also received a plaque and a $250 cash award.

The AHF Distinguished Writing Awards program was established in 1997 to recognize authors who make a significant contribution to the literature on U.S. Army history.  Each year nominations are submitted to the Awards Committee by publishers and journal editors.  A small group of finalists are selected and a final judging is made.  The winners are announced at the annual AHF Members’ Meeting.